Jump To Main Content Jump To Footer
People at GFD

Marko

CFM

Marko
CFM

Marko Herrmann describes himself as a native of Dresden. He grew up in the south of Dresden, to be more specific in Dresden-Plauen. In addition, not only die-hard “Dresdners” know that the Technical University is located here. Therefore, it is no wonder that he started studying “just around the corner”. Exactly which subject was not clear for a long time. At the “Open House”, various lectures attracted him at that time. In addition to business informatics, he also attended a taster course in materials science. He found the former rather boring. However, he was attracted to materials science. One reason was that the professor made the lecture very entertaining for the student at the time and, among other things, showed the young academics how a metal spoon can bend in hot water. Therefore, after the Bundeswehr, he enrolled in the comparatively small course of study.

During his university studies, he came in contact with various companies. He completed his basic internship at Globalfoundries predecessor AMD in the MALab. At the time, he could not imagine that he would return here at some point. However, that is life. In addition, perhaps it helped that a few years had passed between his internship and his start at GF, during which he was able to gain experience at one point or another. Even during his diploma thesis, which he wrote on the rapid solidification of semi-crystalline alloys, his professor encouraged him to continue his scientific career. And he did, and began writing his doctoral thesis at the Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research Dresden (IFW). Without actually having to change his place of residence, he came into contact with the world, or rather with many European project partners, here. Because his work on the mechanical alloying of superconducting MgB2, which conducts current without resistance at low temperatures, was part of a large EU project on wires for computer tomographs.

When both the doctoral hat decorated his head and the EU project was finished, he asked himself: What now? Since he did not see any point in setting up projects for the sake of it, but rather enjoyed solving problems, he knew that his path could only lead him into business. Therefore, it was. In 2012, he had two options to join GF – integration or CFM. Here, the focus is on finding and fixing problems. That is exactly his thing. He chose CFM. In addition, since the range of tasks at CFM is constantly changing, the work is very diverse. Just like the team, he works in. Here he experienced the positive atmosphere of globalization with colleagues from the most diverse parts of the world, such as India, Poland or Indonesia. In addition, contrary to what you might expect in a semiconductor company, the proportion of women in his team is very high, 50:50 as it were. The same applies to the different age groups. He works together with people who are just starting out in their careers and colleagues who will retire in a few years. Overall, he describes his work environment as,

“We have what could be the future!”

 

Share:

More people at Globalfoundries Dresden

People at GFD
Business Analyst

Danielle
Business Analyst

"The world is changed by your example, not by your opinion."

People at GFD
Elected representative of severely disabled persons

Sven
Elected representative of severely disabled persons

"Fear is just a feeling."

People at GFD
PDK (Design Enablement)

Shanthi
PDK (Design Enablement)

"The right way ist the hard way."

Jump To Main Content Jump To Footer
Menschen bei GFD

Marko

CFM

Marko
CFM

Marko Herrmann bezeichnet sich selbst als ein Dresdner Urgewächs. Er wuchs im Dresdner Süden auf, ganz konkret in Dresden-Plauen. Und nicht nur eingefleischte Dresdner*innen wissen, dass sich hier die Technische Universität befindet. Kein Wunder also, dass er „gleich um die Ecke“ anfing zu studieren. Welches Fach genau, war lange Zeit nicht klar. Beim „Tag der offenen Tür“ lockten ihn damals verschiedene Vorlesungen. Neben Wirtschaftsinformatik besuchte er auch einen Schnupperkurs der Werkstoffwissenschaft. Ersteres fand er eher langweilig. Bei der Werkstoffwissenschaft war er angetan. Auch weil der Professor die Vorlesung für den damaligen Schüler sehr kurzweilig gestaltete und unter anderem dem akademischen Nachwuchs zeigte, wie sich ein Metalllöffel in heißem Wasser verbiegen kann. Und so schrieb er sich nach der Bundeswehr in dem vergleichsweise kleinen Studiengang ein.

Während des Studiums kam er mit verschiedenen Firmen in Kontakt. Sein Grundpraktikum absolvierte er beim Globalfoundries-Vorgänger AMD im MALab. Dass er irgendwann hierher zurückkehren würde, konnte er sich damals noch nicht vorstellen. Aber so ist das Leben. Und vielleicht half auch, dass zwischen Grundpraktikum und dem Start bei GF waren noch so einige Jahre ins Land gegangen waren, in denen er an der einen oder anderen Stelle Erfahrung sammeln konnte. Schon während seiner Diplomarbeit, die er über die Rascherstarrung teilkristalliner Legierungen verfasste, animierte ihn sein Professor, seine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn fortzusetzen. Und das tat er auch und begann am Leibniz-Institut für Festkörper- und Werkstoffforschung Dresden (IFW) seine Doktorarbeit zu schreiben. Ohne dass er tatsächlich den Wohnort wechseln musste, kam er hier in Kontakt mit der Welt oder besser gesagt mit vielen europäischen Projektpartnern. Denn seine Arbeit über das mechanische Legieren von supraleitendem MgB2, welches bei tiefen Temperaturen Strom ohne Widerstand leiten, war Teil eines großen EU-Projektes über Drähte für Computertomographen.

Als dann sowohl der Doktorhut den Kopf zierte als auch das EU-Projekt beendet war, stand für ihn die Frage: Was jetzt? Da er keinen Sinn darin sah, Projekte um der Projekte Willen aufzusetzen, sondern Spaß daran hat, Probleme zu lösen, wusste er, dass ihn sein Weg eigentlich nur in die Wirtschaft führen könne. Und so war es dann auch. 2012 hatte er dann gleich zwei Optionen, bei GF einzusteigen – Integration oder CFM. Hier steht im Fokus Probleme zu finden und zu beheben. Das ist genau sein Ding. Seine Wahl fiel auf CFM. Und da sich bei CFM das Aufgabenfeld stetig verändert, sind auch die Arbeiten sehr vielfältig. Genau wie das Team, in dem er arbeitet. Hier erlebt er die positive Atmosphäre der Globalisierung mit Kolleg*innen aus den verschiedensten Teilen der Erde wie Indien, Polen oder Indonesien. Und anders als man das in einem Halbleiterunternehmen vermutet, ist der Frauenanteil in seinem Team sehr hoch, gefühlt 50:50. Gleiches gilt für die verschiedenen Altersstufen. Er arbeitet gemeinsam mit Menschen, die gerade erst in den Beruf starten und Kolleg*innen, die in wenigen Jahren in Rente gehen werden. Alles in allem beschreibt er seine Arbeitsumgebung als:

„Wir haben das, was die Zukunft sein könnte!“

 

Teilen: