Jump To Main Content Jump To Footer
People at GFD

Ruby

Device Engineer

Ruby
Device Engineer

Ran Ruby Yan is originally from Peking. After she graduated in China with a bachelor degree in microelectronics, she moved to Ireland pursuing her PhD in Cork, the second largest city in Ireland, located in the south-west of Ireland. After finishing her PhD in 2011, she got her first job offer from Globalfoundries as a device engineer and has been working in Globalfoundries Dresden ever since. In the last 10 years, she worked in multiple organizations as engineer, team leader and program manager in Dresden Fab1. Her teams are always much diversified from her perspective. She had German and US managers, teammates from Singapore, USA, France, China and many other different backgrounds. She gained valuable capability to adopt a diversified environment and learned to work out the positive compromise for all sides.

Working in a diverse environment or team helps you to accept the differences.

“Regardless of how we differ, diversity is for us to appreciate one another’s uniqueness”,

as she said.

Ruby is now working in the business unit as a business line manager. Every day, she cooperates across different continents with colleagues based in the USA, Singapore, Germany… all over the world. Her previous experiences in GF Dresden site teach her to always keep an open mind and think from other people’s perspectives.

“It is an amazing feeling to work in such a global organization. Even with Covid-19 and work from home, I feel I am still traveling and learning new things from others every day, because we are all just so different.”

Since joining Globalfoundries, Ruby has also provided cultural training from the L&D department. She wants to help others to better work with their Asian colleagues and to explain the hidden reasons behind certain behaviors.   The training is usually in lunchtime as a “snack and chat” section. Due to the pandemic, this training has unfortunately stopped in 2020, but she is more than willing to offer it again in the future.

Ran Ruby Yan lives in Dresden’s Neustadt neighborhood, an environment characterized by diversity and proud of differences. It is not a surprise that she feels right at home here.

 

Share:

Jump To Main Content Jump To Footer
Menschen bei GFD

Ruby

Product Management

Ruby
Product Management

Ran Ruby Yan stammt ursprünglich aus Peking. Nachdem sie in China ihren Bachelor-Abschluss in Mikroelektronik gemacht hatte, zog sie nach Irland, um in Cork, der zweitgrößten Stadt Irlands, die im Südwesten Irlands liegt, zu promovieren. Nach dem Abschluss ihrer Promotion 2011 bekam sie ihr erstes Jobangebot von Globalfoundries als Device Engineer und arbeitet seitdem bei Globalfoundries Dresden. In den vergangenen zehn Jahren hat sie in verschiedenen Bereichen als Ingenieurin, Teamleiterin und Programmmanagerin in der Dresdner Fab1 gearbeitet. Ihre Teams waren aus ihrer Sicht immer sehr abwechslungsreich. Sie hatte deutsche und US-amerikanische Manager, Teamkolleg*innen aus Singapur, USA, Frankreich, China und viele andere unterschiedliche Backgrounds. Sie erwarb die wertvolle Fähigkeit, sich auf ein vielfältiges Umfeld einzustellen und hat gelernt, einen für alle Seiten positiven Kompromiss auszuarbeiten.

Die Arbeit in einem diversen Umfeld oder Team hilft einem, Verschiedenheiten zu akzeptieren.

„Unabhängig davon, wie wir uns unterscheiden, ist Vielfalt für uns, die Einzigartigkeit des anderen zu schätzen“,

meint Ruby.

Sie arbeitet jetzt in ihrer Unternehmenseinheit als Business Line Managerin. Jeden Tag arbeitet sie über verschiedene Kontinente hinweg mit Kolleg*innen zusammen, die in den USA, Singapur, Deutschland und überall auf der Welt sitzen. Ihre bisherigen Erfahrungen am Standort von GF Dresden lehren sie, immer offen zu sein und aus dem Blickwinkel anderer zu denken.

„Es ist ein tolles Gefühl, in einer so globalen Organisation zu arbeiten. Selbst mit Covid-19 und der Arbeit von zu Hause aus habe ich das Gefühl, dass ich immer noch reise und jeden Tag neue Dinge von anderen lerne, weil wir alle so unterschiedlich sind.“

Seit sie bei Globalfoundries arbeitet, bietet Ruby auch kulturelle Schulungen der L&D-Abteilung an. Sie möchte anderen helfen, besser mit ihren asiatischen Kollegen zusammenzuarbeiten und die versteckten Gründe hinter bestimmten Verhaltensweisen zu erklären. Das Training findet in der Regel in der Mittagspause als „Snack and Chat“ Section statt. Aufgrund der Pandemie ist dieses Training im Jahr 2020 leider eingestellt worden, aber sie ist mehr als bereit, es in Zukunft wieder anzubieten. Ran Ruby Yan lebt in der Dresdner Neustadt, einem Umfeld, das von Vielfalt geprägt und stolz auf Unterschiede ist. Kein Wunder, dass sie sich hier zu Hause fühlt.

 

Teilen: